Name: BUSINESS IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT BOARD #15 (DOWNTOWN RIVERWALK)

Type: Board or Commission

Description:

PURPOSE: Section 66.1109, Wis. Stats., allows cities to create one or more business improvement districts to develop, manage and promote the district. They are further permitted to establish an assessment method to fund the activities to be undertaken by the district. All of the foregoing are described in an annual operating plan which is prepared by the district board and approved by the Common Council. The operating plan also describes the amount of the special assessment to be levied against each property in the district.

District #15 encompasses the area generally located in the vicinity of the Milwaukee River between W. Pleasant and E. Clybourn Sts. and N. 4th St. and North Broadway.

COMPOSITION: Seven members: At least four members shall be owners or occupants of property in the District. Any non-owner or non-occupant appointed to the Board shall be a resident of the City of Milwaukee. The Board shall elect its Chair from among its members. Members are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Common Council. Terms of office are three years.

A member continues to serve after the completion of his or her term until reappointed or until a successor has been appointed.

CREATING AUTHORITY: Sec. 66.1109, Wis. Stats. and Common Council File 931824

SALARY: None

STAFFING: Ken Little, Commercial Corridor Manager, Kenneth.little@milwaukee.gov, 414-286-5617; Ms. Debra Patti, 359-0953

LAST UPDATED: January 6, 2021

Name	Title	Start Date	End Date	
C. Edward Moro	ly Member	10/19/2023	10/19/2026	*
Appointed By: Mayor Cavalier Johnson				
David Gebel	Member	2/2/2021	2/2/2024	*
Appointed By: Mayor Tom Barrett				
Dennis Scherr	Member	1/3/2024	1/3/2027	*
Appointed By: Mayor Cavalier Johnson				
Lisa Tatro	Member	9/29/2021	9/29/2024	*
Appointed By:	Mayor Tom Barrett			
Margaret Gehrin	ng Member	1/5/2024	1/5/2027	*
Appointed By:	Mayor Cavalier Johnson			
Peter Pacetti	Member	4/4/2022	4/4/2025	*
Sam Denny	Member	10/25/2023	10/25/2026	*
Appointed By:	Mayor Cavalier Johnson			

